les moore

Last Words Connoisseur

Last words are weirdly fascinating. Sometimes they sum up the person’s essence in a few words, other times they seem wildly out of character.

Though in Hollywood, last words are uniformly ridiculous (see Point Break), real life last words can be deeply moving, funny, sad, cruel…

"My whole life has been about this moment, Johnny. C'mon, compadre, c'mon!"

“My whole life has been about this moment, Johnny!”

Most last words are conventional like, “I love you” or “By the way, I cut you out of my will a few years back.” Let’s examine some others.

There are witty farewells. François Rabelais said: “I owe much; I have nothing; the rest I leave to the poor.” Which is a cute way of letting his creditors down easy. When Oscar Wilde died in 1900, his last words were, “Either that wallpaper goes or I do” which is clever and gay, much like Oscar. As Sir Walter Raleigh waited to be beheaded, he looked at the axe and said, “It is a sharp medicine, but a sure cure for all ills.”

There are the beautiful messages, like those of George Harrison, “Love one another” and Bo Diddley, “I’m goin’ to heaven! I’m comin’ home.” But far more intriguing are the last words of the total jerk. Karl Marx’ parting words were: “Go on, get out! Last words are for fools who haven’t said enough!” Joan Crawford hissed: “Damn it! Don’t you dare ask God to help me!”

Another interesting group is populated by people who had no idea they were about to die, and were talking about mundanities. Typical last words from these people are: “This doesn’t taste right” or “What bus?”

There are the questionable ones, such as Gaius Caligula, the Roman emperor, who shouted: “I am still alive!” after being stabbed 30 times by his own guards. Is it wise to call attention to the fact he was still breathing?

“It’s cool, I’m sure he’s tame.”

 

Some people say rad things all day so any statement they make works well. Take Robert Roy MacGregor, the Scottish outlaw, whose last words were: “Boy! Fetch my fiddle!” If I’d died this afternoon, my last words would have been: “I think I got Cheetos crumbs in my keyboard. Hear them crunch when I type?” Perhaps I should do some planning.

Supposedly many death row inmates give no thought to their last words until the execution is actually underway. You’ve got to figure, it’s likely your health might take a turn for the worse on death row. Selecting your last words may be a nice way to while away the time. One inmate stands out: Darick Demorris Walker, who got lethal injection in Virginia. After watching the prison officials fumbling with their gadgets before getting everything ready to go, Walker was given the opportunity to make a statement. He accepted and said, “I don’t think y’all done this right, took y’all too long to hook it up. You can print that. That’s it.” Darick Demorris probably did something terrible, but I can’t help feeling there is some good in a person who literally used his last breath to tell the government how incompetent it is.

Yay, government!

 

Lastly, here are the most mysterious and potentially horrific last words ever, courtesy of Walt Disney, who captured his last earthly thought by scribbling “Kurt Russell” on a sheet of paper at his bedside.

Haunting Walt Disney's thoughts...

Who’s haunting who, Walt?

13 thoughts on “Last Words Connoisseur

  1. That car’s going way too fast.–Randall Kent Burris, a hero gave his life saving a woman and her child. Burris is a direct descendant of Pocahontas and John Rolfe. His ancestors has lived in America in 1607. Over four hundred years ago!

  2. There is another one, this time from Michael T. Landsberry:
    “Get to a safe place. Something really bad might happen.” Semper Fi, Mike and may his memory be eternal!

  3. “Goodbye beautiful. I love you so much.”–John Roger Johnson, a man of Norway and Swedish origin. His flag at one time was called the Herring Salad. He is a son of Norway and his Viking spirit remains with him. God bless and farvel Jon Roger Jønsson.

    • that’s a great one!

      I recently came across Marie Antoinette’s last words, uttered on her way to the guillotine. After accidentally stepping on her executioner’s foot, she said: “Pardon me, sir. I did not do it on purpose.”

  4. By the way, “I love you” is the last words before the hero Jesse Lewis was shot to death in the deadliest elementary school shooting in the history of North America!

  5. “I’m running a little late,” Franco said in the message. “But I want you to know that I still love you.”–last words of Santa Monica Groundskeeper Carlos Franco-Navarro (his two last names in a Mexican fashion). Vaya Con Dios, Carlos!

  6. Go to the basement and hide.–Parkash Singh Rathore.

    Rathore’s last words says to his wife and kids before he was shot dead in the Sikh temple in Oak Creek, Wisconsin.

Leave a Reply

