Good Luck Saturday

For at least ten years, I’ve collected old photographs. I don’t remember why I started buying them, but I’ve always liked history and vintage style. I like to imagine what the people in the pictures were like – where they lived, what they thought about, and all of that.

I have old tintypes all the way up through post-WWII pictures. After the 1940s, I lose interest, and I never buy anything post-1960. My favorites are probably 1900 – 1920.

I haven’t added to my collection in a long time, but today I bought six! The first three were taken in a big city. Maybe Chicago? The date is hard to figure. Late 1930s, maybe?

The words on the building say “Motion Pictures” and on the second line “Most Popular Entertainment”

You can usually guess the era of a picture based on the hairstyles and clothing, but I go back and forth on these. The scalloped paper is called a deckled edge, and it was very popular from the 1930s – 50s.

The same happy little family from the first picture. Look at the lady’s gloves!

The man on the left isn’t the same one from the first two pictures, although they do favor each other. These fellas look sharp, don’t they?

The next picture is of three people sitting on a boat. I would estimate this one was taken in the late 30s or early 40s.

Some rocking swimwear circa 1940

Next up is a photo from the 1950s. It looks like it was taken at a graduation or birthday party.

Could it be a cousin of Audrey Hepburn?

The last photo is from the 1970s. Yes, it’s a violation of the post-1960 rule, but it would have been a terrible sin to not buy this picture! I was sold as soon as I saw the bow-tie but after reading the inscription on the back, I would have bought it even if it bankrupted me.

This picture is fantastic

Quite possibly the best photo inscription I’ve ever seen.

It might be a little hard to read, so I’ll copy it:

To Chris,

An attractive young lady who won’t stay young if you keep hanging around with that beast named Kirk. I wish you the very best of luck with or without him. 

Love, Shawn

So you see Shawn wasn’t all fashion and no heart! It sounds like he kind of liked Chris, doesn’t it? I wonder how things turned out, and what ever became of Shawn?

I also found some antique brooches! I’m always looking for them, but they haven’t been easy to find since they aren’t in fashion. You can probably find real brooches, but I’m just looking for pretty costume jewelry, which doesn’t ever seem to be for sale. I just happened upon these:

The crystals are difficult to see in this picture.

It’s a shame the lady from the 1950s cocktail party didn’t have this pin, isn’t it? The pearls would have gone perfectly with her dress.

A bouquet with pink stones

A marcasite butterfly

All in all, it was a very lucky Saturday!

Leave a Reply

