What’s on your 2013 Mayan Calendar?

Well, what do you know? The Mayan prophecy that the world would end on December 21st, 2012 was wrong. However – the prophecy did have a positive outcome: it caused some of us to consider our lives on a deeper level. That’s why the Mayans are mathematically wrong, but still all right.

Now that mankind has been given the gift of another day, it may be as good a time as any to point out that we should make the most of our time here on earth.

I challenge you to ask yourself two hard questions today:

  1. “What should I be doing with my life?”
  2. “How do I get started?”

That’s a pretty tall order, admittedly. People tend to not think through the first question very thoroughly because they immediately throw up personal roadblocks about why they’re stuck. A lot of the concerns they raise are legitimate, but if you can’t even think through these questions, then you’ll never learn if there would have been a way to resolve them. (One thing that often helps me think through my personal roadblocks is to think about how I would advise someone else in my position.)

And while you’re pondering these questions, do something beautiful today to honor our ancient Mayan friends.

sunrise

There is only one day left, always starting over: it is given to us at dawn and taken away from us at dusk.
Jean-Paul Sartre

2 thoughts on “What’s on your 2013 Mayan Calendar?

  1. Oh my, that was a fine read. Perfectly inspirational, asking the right Questions. I was born on December 22 and turned 62 this year, so the Mayan calendar would have ruined my retirement and birthday. Doomsday is any day you waste in a useless bad mood, in this marvelous world. The clock is ticking — as ever, as always.

    • Thank you for commenting, Geoffrey! and congratulations on your retirement. I hope you’re making some big plans now that you have more free time.
      I’m glad you wrote. We know that wasting time is a sin, but some days you need to hear it.

Leave a Reply

