Farewell, B.B.!

B.B. King passed away last week.

Celebrity news rarely fazes me – but B.B. King wasn’t a celebrity. He was a friend.

His album, Live and Well, was the first blues album I ever had and it was a revelation – a whole different world I’d never heard of.

Live_&_Well_cover

His death is a huge loss to the blues, the music industry, and the world in general. His daughters were in the news today. They believe his manager deliberately poisoned him – murdered him. That hurts my heart.

I’ve seen B.B. King perform twice, and he was fantastic. The last time he was in his late 70s. His tour manager came out first and told the audience B.B. was well, but a performance was a lot of work and he got tired quickly. He didn’t want people to expect too much or beg him for an encore.

B.B. walked out in the middle of his spiel and waved him off. “What are you talking about? I feel great!” I remember him joking with the audience, and dancing a little while he played Lucille.

Farewell B.B.!

Thank you for introducing me to the blues. I’ll always be your fan.

 

Here he is, in his heyday, playing How Blue Can You Get?

 

One thought on “Farewell, B.B.!

  1. I’m going to miss B.B. King also. I totally understand what you are saying about him in your post. Rest in peace, King of the Blues.

Leave a Reply

